Nolan Chart
Home Be a Columnist Logon Columns Survey FAQ Newsletter Contact Print Advertise Other

The Left/Right Knockout Punch
columnist: Alex Wallenwein

Like This Article?
Thumb It!
18 thumbs so far

Topic: Ron Paul
PHONY "RON PAUL MEETUP" WEBSITE PUSHES OBAMA

Even Obama supporters realize: Ron Paul's name has MORE PULL on the Internet than even their own candidate!
by Alex Wallenwein
(Libertarian)
Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Go to RonPaulMeetup.com and take a good look around.

Looks patriotic, right? US flag and a saluting soldier, and "RonPaul" in the alleged web site name. Hold on to your seats!

Now, click on any link that says "Presidential" in its title, and the first thing you see is a big reference to - Barack Obama!

Guess even Obama fans realize Ron Paul's name has a better pull than their own champion - but look at the address window: The actual URL has nothing to do with Ron Paul OR Obama. It goes to a web site called "Cnomy.com" that advertises all kinds of unrelated nonsense.

Delete everything that comes behind the ".com" in the URL and click "Go". You will see there is not even anything related to politics on its home page

A mystery.

Is it just sleazy advertising - or somethng more sinister?

I suppose Meetup.com would have a word or two to say about them using this confusing and misleading web site name. Maybe a trademark infringement lawsuit would be in order, sued out by both Meetup and the Ron Paul campaign for improper use of an established trade name?

More money for the Ron Paul Revolution!

Anyone familiary with US election laws? Is this a violation of federal law?

Can the perpetrators be traced back to Obama or any other presidential candidate's campaign? I am only raising questions, here, not making accusations. This needs to be investigated and brought to light.

Is this merely a distraction so Ron Paulers spend less time getting Ron nominated at this critical juncture? Very possible. Any major effort to get to the bottom of this should wait until after new Hampshire's primary vote.

But after that ...

Regardless, Ron will WIN!

Alex Wallenwein

Did you like this article?
If you did, Thumb It!
18 thumbs so far

2008 Alex Wallenwein, all rights reserved.
Published: Wednesday, January 2, 2008
Last modified: Wednesday, January 2, 2008

The views expressed in this article are those of Alex Wallenwein only and do not represent the views of Nolan Chart, LLC or its affiliates. Alex Wallenwein is solely responsible for the contents of this article and is not an employee or otherwise affiliated with Nolan Chart, LLC in his/her role as a columnist.

Report violation by Alex Wallenwein of Nolan Chart LLC's terms of use policy.


More Articles By Alex Wallenwein

Be A Columnist
Tell A Friend About This Article

Reader Comments:

Posted By: Michael Waters
Date: 2008-01-02 12:10:14

This isn't a big deal...stuff like this has been going on since the birth of the internet.  What you're seeing is called a parked page, a turnkey, or a portal.  Someone recognizes a popular subject with an available domain name and they set up a simple website to generate cash via click-through advertising. 

You search for Paul, you find this website...you click around unsure what the website is, you make the site owner money.  Also, people set these websites up so search engines will rate their other websites better depending on the link.

Overall, this is not some calculated tactic...it's the same thing we've always seen and probably isn't done by a Obama supporter, just a fellow capitalist.

Report violation


Posted By: JackieLangley
Date: 2008-01-02 13:58:38

This isn't surprising considering that Paul supporters created the phony FredThompson Forums and Obama Forums.

Report violation


Posted By: Jeremy Clifton
Date: 2008-01-02 19:25:43

This isn't some nefarious plot from the Obama campaign, it's just (at best) a standard generic domain parking page. Somebody registered the name hoping to get a bunch of traffic and that people who mistakenly end up there would click on some paid ads on there and earn them some money. Notice how you get immediately are forwarded from ronpaulmeetup.com to http://www.cnomy.com/?dn=ronpaulmeetup.com&pid=1POSD3EUD?

At worst, you might end up with spyware or other nasty stuff installed on your computer if you visit the site.

See more information here: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/cnomy.com

I seriously doubt Obama's campaign has anything to do with this.

Report violation


Want to comment on this article? Leave your comment here. Your email address is required to track your comment. However, we will neither publish your email address nor distribute it to other organizations or persons. The only reason we might use it would be if we needed to contact you regarding your comment. All comments are subject to our terms of use policy.

Leave A Comment

Your Name:  

Your Email Address*:  

Your Comment: